Board of Health

Submitting Public Comments to the Board of Health 

Comments submitted at least 3 business days before each Board of Health meeting will be considered at that BoH meeting. 

To submit a public comment to the Board of Health visit:

2021 Meetings

  • Regularly quarterly meetings are scheduled for the 2nd Thursday of each month for the 3rd month of each quarter as follows:  
    • March 11
    • June 10
    • September 9
    • December 9
  • Special Meetings may still be called in response to the pandemic and will be scheduled in the in-between months. 

About the Board

The Pitkin County Board of Health is the governing body of the Pitkin County Public Health Agency. The Board consists of seven volunteer Pitkin County residents, appointed by the Pitkin County Board of County Commissioners to serve five-year terms. Board members will be required to attend quarterly meetings (subject to change) and special sessions. The Board of Health observes their authority which rests in accordance with the powers and duties set forth in the Colorado Public Health Act of 2008 (Colorado Revised Statutes [C.R.S.] Section §25-1-508). The local Board of Health fulfills the objectives of the Board, which are to promote and protect public health and environmental quality in the community through people, prevention and partnerships.

Meet the Board Members

BoH 1.24.20

Members of the Pitkin County Board of Health include:

  • Greg Poschman (Chair) 
  • Dr. Christa Gieszl (Vice-Chair)
  • Bill Madsen
  • Dr. Tom Kurt
  • Dr. Jeannie Seybold
  • Linda Vieira
  • Torre


  • Ann Mullins
  • Claudia Kirby
  • Markey Butler
  • Patti Clapper

Medical Officer: 

  • Dr. Kim Levin