Contact Us

HOW TO REACH US...
Open Space and Trails administrative staff members work remotely and in the office.  Staff has remote access to emails. Calls to office phone numbers also ring to staff cell phones. A staff directory is posted below. Please feel free to reach us via phone or email. Rangers are available on our trails and properties as well as by telephone and email.

The OST office welcomes walk-in visitors when a staff person is present. Appointments are encouraged - call 970-920-5232 or reach out to a staff member directly (see the directory below).

PITKIN COUNTY OPEN SPACE AND TRAILS
530 E. Main St., Suite 202
Aspen CO 81611

Phone: 970-920-5232
Send us an email

NEED A RANGER?
Call 970-920-5399
For emergencies, call 9-1-1

ARE YOU RECEIVING OUR EMAIL NEWSLETTER?
It's a great way to stay informed about what we're up to. Sign up for the next issue.
Gary Tennenbaum 2014
Gary Tennenbaum - Director
OST logo - white on green
facebook icon
twitter icon

STAFF DIRECTORY

NAME EMAIL PHONE
Main Info Number web_open_space@pitkincounty.com

970-920-5232
Gary Tennenbaum, director 970-920-5355             
Dale Will, acquisition and special projects director dale.will@pitkincounty.com 970-618-5708
Paul Holsinger, agriculture and conservation easement administrator paul.holsinger@pitkincounty.com 970-429-3367
Drew Walters, agriculture specialist drew.walters@pitkincounty.com 970-920-5237
Jessie Young, planning and outreach manager jessie.young@pitkincounty.com 970-429-6169
Carly Klein, senior planner

970-379-4840
Liza Mitchell, natural resource planner and ecologist liza.mitchell@pitkincounty.com 970-429-2796
Ted O'Brien, resource and trails manager ted.obrien@pitkincounty.com 970-429-6130
Rick Norman, ranger supervisor rick.norman@pitkincounty.com 970-920-5399
Ryan Quinn, ranger ryan.quinn@pitkincounty.com 970-920-5399
Megan Ballard, ranger

megan.ballard@pitkincounty.com 970-920-5399
Bill Griggers, operations supervisor bill.griggers@pitkincounty.com
Kim Arensdorf, administrative specialist kim.arensdorf@pitkincounty.com 970-920-5215
Janet Urquhart, planning and outreach specialist janet.urquhart@pitkincounty.com 970-920-5223 

OPEN SPACE AND TRAILS BOARD OF TRUSTEES

The Open Space and Trails Board of Trustees is a policy/advisory board for Pitkin County. Five trustees are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners; each represents a commissioner district. Each trustee serves a five-year term without pay and may not hold any other county or municipal office or be employed by the county or a municipality. Contact Pitkin County Elections at 970-429-2732 to determine your Board of County Commissioners district.

Board meetings generally begin at 9 a.m. on the first Thursday of each month. Quarterly meetings with the Board of County Commissioners typically begin at 11 a.m. on a Tuesday. Meetings generally last 3 to 5 hours. Contact OST office at 920-5232 for additional information.

OUR MISSION

The mission of the Open Space and Trails program is to acquire, preserve, maintain and manage open space properties for multiple purposes including, but not limited to, recreational, wildlife, agricultural, scenic and access purposes; and to acquire, preserve, develop, maintain and manage trails for similar purposes. The program was founded in 1990 with the passage of a Pitkin County property tax devoted to acquiring open spaces and developing trails. The program has since conserved more than 20,000 acres, either as open space or through conservation easements. In addition, it maintains some 84 miles of trails and 60 miles of Nordic trails.

TRUSTEES

District 1:  Graeme Means (term expires April 1, 2027)

District 2:  Howie Mallory (term expires April 1, 2024)

District 3: Amy Barrow (term expires April 1, 2023)

District 4: Michael Kinsley (term expires April 1, 2025)

District 5: Wayne Ives (term expires April 1, 2026)

EMAIL A TRUSTEE at web_open_space@pitkincounty.com 

GOVERNING DOCUMENTS

Article XIII of the Home Rule Charter
Bylaws
Adopted Policies