Show All Answers
Phone: 970-920-5160 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Location: Pitkin County Administration & Sheriff's Office Building 530 E. Main St Ste 204, Aspen CO 81611
Notices of Valuation for real property are mailed on May 1st in odd years. Notices of Valuation for personal property are mailed on June 14th in odd years.
The exact amount of taxes is an estimate until the tax rate or mill levies have been certified and approved by the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). According to Colorado law, each taxing authority must provide their mill levy to the BOCC by December 15th. The Board then certifies the mill levies by December 22nd. In the following January, official tax notices are mailed by the County Treasurer based upon these approved mill levies. Therefore, after January 1 of each year, you can contact the County Treasurer for the exact amount of property tax. The Assessor does not levy or collect taxes, we value your property.
Calculating taxes in Colorado: Residential Properties ~ Actual Value x Assessment Rate of 7.2% = Assessed Value Assessed Value x Mill Levy = Tax Amount Non-Residential Properties ~ Actual Value x Assessment Rate of 29% = Assessed Value Assessed Value x Mill Levy = Tax Amount
Example ~ If you have $1,000,000 actual value of real property and the mill levy is 45, what will the taxes be? $1,000,000 x 0.072 = 72,000. 72,000 x 0.045 = $3,240 tax amount
The Colorado Constitution requires that a specific relationship be maintained, on a statewide basis, between the assessed value of residential property and the assessed value of non-residential property. The state legislature sets the residential assessment rate once every 2 years to maintain that relationship. The current assessment rate for all residential properties is 7.2%. All other properties are assessed at 29% of actual value.
The Assessor researches each individual property's legal and physical condition on January 1 to determine their status for that tax year. Status is . The tax notice received next January will be based on this status.
The appraisal date is the date of valuation and all comparable sales must be trended to this date.
In order to access more information than a simple property search, the Assessor is charging $35 per month or $350 per year to be able to access downloadable online reports and queries. Subscriptions can be paid by credit card by calling 970-920-5160. Our office will then assign you a unique name and password for access.