Board of County Commissioners

COVID-19 Closures / Resources

In an effort to slow the spread of COVID-19, our offices are closed at 530 E. Main unless you have an appointment with the Clerk & Recorder's office. We are still available by email and phone and will continue holding our work sessions each Tuesday and regular meetings the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of each month.  You can view these meetings by going to the homepage and clicking on "Watch Meetings".  

We are available by email during this closure and our staff is working hard to make information available on the homepage as it is available.  Thank you for your patience as we try to continue to provide services virtually.


If you wish to contact all 5 Commissioners via email please click here: Email 

Kelly McNicholas Kury - Chair 

District 2
Email (
Phone: 970-319-0219
Patti Clapper  - Vice Chair
District 1
Email (
Phone: 970-379-3702
Steve Child 

District 4
Email (
Phone: 970-927-3008
Greg Poschman  

District 3
Email (
Phone: 970-309-7997
Francie head shot
Francie Jacober 

District 5
Email (
Phone: 970-379-9511
  1. About the Board
  2. Agendas & Minutes
  3. Work Sessions
  4. Regular Meeting

The Board of County Commissioners is the decision-making board for Pitkin County. The board provides necessary public service as required or authorized by Colorado State Statutes, and establishes, evaluates, and revises county codes, policies, and service programs to achieve operational efficiency in the use of limited public resources.

The Board of County Commissioners reviews and approves specific land-use issues such as special review, subdivision, and planned unit development. In the fall of each year they also review and approve county, district, and authority service plans and budgets. The Commissioners also act as liaison to statewide groups and commissions and other local governments.

Commissioners represent specific residential districts in which they must reside during their terms but are elected at large.